









2nd CEPR Conference **Political Economy of Central Banks**

PROGRAMME

Saturday 12 November 2022 (CET) - University of Amsterdam

This is the second edition of an annual conference series on the Political Economy of Finance. The series is an initiative of PolEconFin, a platform for researchers active in the political economy of finance. Three leading Dutch universities - Erasmus University Rotterdam, Tilburg University, and the University of Amsterdam – host the annual event. This year, the conference is dedicated to the intersection between political institutions, central banks, and the real sector.

09.50-10.00 - Opening

Enrico Perotti (University of Amsterdam & CEPR)

10.00-11.30 – Historical Perspectives

Chair: Deniz Igan (Bank for International Settlements & CEPR)

Central Banks' Balance Sheet and the Macroeconomy, 1587-2020

Presenter: Moritz Schularick (University of Bonn & CEPR)

Discussant: Eric Monnet (Paris School of Economics & CEPR)

Central Bank Losses and Lending of Last Resort

Presenter: Kris Mitchener (Santa Clara University & CEPR)

Discussant: Vasso Ioannidou (Bayes Business School & CEPR)











Chair: Alexander Michaelides (Imperial College London & CEPR)

Fiscal Dominance and Regulatory Forbearance

Presenter: Viral Acharya (New York University Stern School of Business & CEPR)

13.00-14.30 - Lunch

14.30-16.45 – Theory and Empirics

Chair: Alessandro Riboni (Ecole Polytechnique & CEPR)

The Dark Side of Conservative Central Banks: A Model of Political Turnover and the Central Bank

Presenter: Carolin Pflueger (University of Chicago & CEPR)

Discussant: Dana Foarta (Stanford Graduate School of Business & CEPR)

(In)dependent Central Banks

Presenter: Sotirios Kokas (University of Essex)

Discussant: Viral Acharya (New York University Stern School of Business & CEPR)

The Coming Battle of Digital Currencies

Presenter: Simon Mayer (HEC Paris)

Discussant: Jean-Charles Rochet (Geneva Finance Research Institute & CEPR)











17.15-18.15 – Keynote Lecture

Chair: Orkun Saka (City, University of London & London School of Economics)

Barry Eichengreen (University of California, Berkeley & CEPR)

18.30-22.00 - Dinner

Organising committee: Thomas Lambert (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Enrico Perotti (University of Amsterdam & CEPR), Magdalena Rola-Janicka (Tilburg University)

Programme committee: Jean-Edouard Colliard (HEC Paris & CEPR), Dana Foarta (Stanford University & CEPR), Hans Gersbach (ETH Zurich & CEPR), Rainer Haselmann (Goethe University Frankfurt & CEPR), Deniz Igan (Bank for International Settlements & CEPR), Elisabeth Kempf (University of Chicago & CEPR), Kris James Mitchener (Santa Clara University & CEPR), Alessandro Riboni (Ecole Polytechnique & CEPR), Martin Schmalz (University of Oxford & CEPR), Christoph Trebesch (Kiel University & CEPR)