



The Digital Revolution and Monetary Policy: What is New? A joint conference of the CEPR MEF group and FinTech RPN

10-11 June 2022 Gerzensee, Switzerland

*All timings are in Central European Summer Time

Friday 10 June

12:00-13:30	Lunch and registration on arrival
13:30-13:40	Welcome address and introductory remarks
13:40-14:30	The Real Effects of FinTech Lending on SMEs: Evidence from Loan Applications Afonso Eça, Miguel Ferreira, Melissa Porras Prado, Emanuele Rizzo (Nova School of Business and Economics) Discussant: Martin Brown (Study Center Gerzensee)
14:30-15:20	CBDC and business cycle dynamics in a New Monetarist New Keynesian model Katrin Assenmacher, Lea Bitter (TU Berlin), Annukka Ristiniemi Discussant: Martina Fraschini (Swiss Finance Institute)
15:20-15:40	Coffee Break
15:40-16:30	Keynote: Competing Digital Currencies Jean-Charles Rochet (Geneva University and CEPR)
16:30-17:20	Credit lines, bank deposits or CBDC? Competition & efficiency in modern payment systems Monika Piazzesi, Martin Schneider (Stanford University and CEPR) Discussant: Timothy Jackson (University of Liverpool)
17:20-18:10	Money Talks: Information and Seignorage Maximilian Guennewig (University of Bonn) Discussant: Cyril Monnet (University of Bern and Study Center Gerzensee)
19:00	Dinner

Saturday 11 June

09:00-09:50	Central Bank Digital Currency: When Price and Bank Stability collide Linda Schilling (Washington University in St Louis and CEPR), Jesús Fernández-Villaverde, Harald Uhlig
	Discussant: Co-Pierre Georg (University of Cape Town)
09:50-10:10	Coffee Break
10:10-11:00	Keynote: The optimal quantity of CBDC in a bank-based economy: Frank Smets (University of Ghent, ECB, and CEPR)
11:00-11:50	The digital economy, privacy, and CBDC Toni Ahnert, Peter Hoffmann (European Central Bank), Cyril Monnet
	Discussant: Harald Uhlig (University of Chicago and CEPR)
11:50-12:00	Concluding remarks
12:00-13:00	Lunch

The sessions are split as follows:

Paper author: 30 minutes; Discussant: 10 minutes; General discussion: 10 minutes.

Organising Committee:

Refet Gurkaynak (Bilkent University and CEPR) **Dirk Niepelt** (University of Bern and CEPR)