,

Monday 19 July, 2021
09:00 - 10:30 EDT (Washington)
14:00 - 15:30 GMT (London)
15:00 - 16:30 CEST (Paris)

This CEPR-World Bank eBook, edited by Ana Margarida Fernandes, Nadia Rocha, and Michele Ruta, brings together leading experts in international trade from academia and policy institutions to provide new analysis on the determinants of DTAs, how they affect trade and non-trade outcomes, and how they might shape trade relations in a post-COVID-19 world.

Join Ana Margarida Fernandes, Anabel Gonzalez, Mari Pangestu, Nadia Rocha, Michele Ruta and L. Alan Winters in this upcoming discussion on the new generation of trade agreements.

Register online 

Swati Dhingra, Rebecca Freeman, Hanwei Huang, 21 January 2021

Deep trade agreements are widespread and have taken the world beyond tariff liberalisation in goods trade. As the importance of global supply chains and the services sector increased across the world, shallow tariff reductions gave way to deeper commitments that address non-tariff barriers and behind the border barriers to trade. By matching dissagregated trade data to the universe of deep trade agreements, this column examines their impact on trade in goods and services, and quantifies their welfare impacts. Welfare gains from the commitments involved in such agreements have played a crucial role in overall welfare gains since the conclusion of the Uruguay Round. 

Events

CEPR Policy Research