,

Monthly online seminars on Tuesdays, starting in September 2020,
8 AM New York, 1 PM London, 2 PM Milan/Paris/Frankfurt, 8 PM Singapore/Shanghai

We are delighted to announce that the CEPR Network on Financial Economics is launching a virtual seminar series at the start of the academic year.

The CEPR Advanced Forum for Financial Economics (CAFFE) will be organized by Laurent Calvet, Kim Peijnenburg, and Raman Uppal from EDHEC Business School. Its objective is to make cutting-edge finance research available to researchers based in Europe and around the world.

There will be one seminar each month covering all topics in Financial Economics. The seminar is open to all participants but special emphasis will be placed on European-based researchers working on novel issues such as the financial implications of Covid-19. We view this seminar series as a joint venture of all researchers in Financial Economics and we very much look forward to your wholehearted and enthusiastic support.

Each seminar will run for 75 minutes, with 40 minutes allocated to the speaker, 20 minutes to a discussant, and 15 minutes for questions from the audience. The seminar starts just after lunch at 2PM CET (1PM London time), so have your caffè during CAFFE!

The confirmed speakers for the CAFFE seminar series are:

8 September 2020: Pierre Collin-Dufresne (EPFL and CEPR)

13 October 2020: Victoria Vanasco (CREI and CEPR)

10 November 2020: Lorenzo Bretscher (London Business School)

8 December 2020: Ester Faia (Goethe University Frankfurt and CEPR)

12 January 2021: Nicola Gennaioli (Bocconi University and CEPR)

9 February 2021: Marieke Bos (Stockholm School of Economics)

9 March 2021: Savitar Sundaresan (imperial College and CEPR)

6 April 2021: Irina Zviadadze (Stockholm School of Economics and CEPR)

11 May 2021: Vikrant Vig (London Business School)

8 June 2021: Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics and CEPR)

Co-Pierre Georg, Michael E. Rose, 16 January 2016

Informal collaboration is an integral part of academia. Studies of academic collaboration have mostly focused on formal collaboration, as measured by co-authorships. This column instead constructs a network of informal collaboration in financial economics, exploiting acknowledgements of assistance appearing in published papers. Three rankings of financial economists are constructed based on acknowledgement occurrence and centrality. Being helpful is not found to predict centrality in the informal collaboration network.

Events

CEPR Policy Research