,

Monday 19 July, 2021
09:00 - 10:30 EDT (Washington)
14:00 - 15:30 GMT (London)
15:00 - 16:30 CEST (Paris)

This CEPR-World Bank eBook, edited by Ana Margarida Fernandes, Nadia Rocha, and Michele Ruta, brings together leading experts in international trade from academia and policy institutions to provide new analysis on the determinants of DTAs, how they affect trade and non-trade outcomes, and how they might shape trade relations in a post-COVID-19 world.

Join Ana Margarida Fernandes, Anabel Gonzalez, Mari Pangestu, Nadia Rocha, Michele Ruta and L. Alan Winters in this upcoming discussion on the new generation of trade agreements.

Register online 

Aaditya Mattoo, Alen Mulabdic, Michele Ruta, 12 October 2017

Trade agreements have extended their reach well beyond tariff reduction, to policy areas such as investment and competition policy. This column shows that the deepening of trade agreements has contributed to trade growth among members and had a positive spillover effect on trade with non-members. The reason is that, differently from tariffs, these new provisions are often non-discriminatory and, hence, have a public good aspect. Undoing deep agreements is likely to be painful for all.

Events

CEPR Policy Research