Aerdt Houben

Director of the Financial Stability Division, De Nederlandsche Bank

Aerdt Houben (1963) is Director of the Financial Stability Division at De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB), the Dutch central bank and prudential supervisor. The division assesses macroprudential risks in the Netherlands and formulates policy proposals to safeguard financial stability. Prior to this, he headed the Supervisory Strategy Department during the integration of prudential supervision on banks, insurance companies and pension funds within DNB. Before that, he headed the Monetary Policy Department, including during the change-over to the euro. He has worked at the IMF, in the Policy Development and Review Department.

He is currently a member of the Committee on the Global Financial System at the BIS, the Standing Committee on Analytical Vulnerabilities of the Financial Stability Board, the Advisory Technical Committee of the European Systemic Risk Board and the Financial Stability Committee of the ECB. He chairs the Instruments Working Group of the ESRB. He has been a member of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and the International Organisation of Pension Supervisors and has been active in numerous other policy committees in the context of the IMF, G10, the Eurosystem, the EU’s Economic and Financial Committee and the EU supervisory committee CEIOPS. He has a PhD in monetary economics and has published broadly on financial issues.

Content by this Author

Articles by aerdthouben0

CEPR Policy Research